Aggressive Advocacy For Personal Injury Victims
When you are seriously injured in an accident, you cannot afford to settle for less than you need for your full recovery. That is why at Burrage Law Firm, PLLC, our experienced trial attorneys fight until the very end to secure full compensation for medical treatment, property damage, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Located in Durant, we are Oklahoma’s trusted personal injury law firm. We handle a wide range of cases involving:
- Car accidents
- Bus accidents
- Truck accidents
- Motorcycle accidents
- Slip-and-fall injuries
- Defective products
- Dog bites
- Medical malpractice
- Catastrophic injuries
You shouldn’t have to worry about the legal process after your injury. Our lawyers work tirelessly to take care of all the details so you can focus on making a full recovery.
The Experience And Ambition It Takes To Win
If you are faced with severe injuries or the death of a loved one, there are few who are as qualified as Burrage Law Firm, PLLC. We have secured millions of dollars in settlements and verdicts on behalf of Oklahoma accident victims and can develop a winning strategy for your case as well.
When it comes to your well-being, you should not just take our word for it — see some of the results we have been able to secure for clients in the past.
Common Personal Injury Questions
If you have been injured in a serious accident, you likely have many questions about how to proceed with your case. Below are just a couple of the questions we get asked often at Burrage Law Firm. See more of our answers to common injury questions on our website, or schedule a free consultation for more information on your specific case.
How long do I have to file a personal injury claim?
Oklahoma residents typically have 2 years from the date of their accident to file their personal injury claim.
There are some exceptions to this rule. For claims against a government entity, you may only have 1 year from the date of your accident to file your claim. If the victim is a minor, that individual would have 1 year after their 18th birthday to file their claim. In rare situations where the at-fault party leaves the state or hides to avoid a lawsuit, you may be able to extend the deadline as well.
Regardless of your case, it is a good idea to seek legal counsel as soon as possible. If you miss your deadline to file a claim, you may lose your claim to any compensation.
Can I still file a personal injury claim if I’m partially responsible for the accident?
If you had a role in causing your accident or injuries, you may still be able to file a personal injury claim. Oklahoma has modified comparative negligence laws, meaning that as long as someone is less than 50% “at fault” for the accident and their own injuries, they will be able to sue for compensation.
For example, if you get in a motorcycle accident and were not wearing your helmet, and that accident results in serious head injuries, you will likely be partially to blame for neglecting to wear a helmet. However, if the other driver is found to have been more at fault, you will still have a claim to compensation. Your recovery, however, will decrease proportionate to your “percentage of fault” in the accident.
Get Started With A Free Initial Consultation
Personal injury cases start with a free consultation — and should you continue your case with us, you only pay attorney’s fees if we are successful in securing you compensation. This means there is no risk to get started; call 580-380-4005 or send us an email to set up your appointment.